What IYHO does "looks gay" correspond to?

Just curious. Inspired by this thread title (and OP I guess).

Any man that combines colorfulness, effeminacy, and over-the-top-ness is a candidate.

Lesbians, I’m not good at determining. There are several straight women with short hair that don’t like to wear makeup.

For gay guys, I distinguish 2 categories: “pitchers” vs “catchers”.

Some of the pitchers can be tough to pick out because they blend in easier with heterosexuals. The catchers are often flamboyant with effeminate clothing, wrist gestures, so they stick out very easily.

Visually, it’s a look that changes as styles change so there is no generic description that fits.

Hmmm… interesting. I never really thought about who was giving and receiving. So the more effeminate gay men typically will be penetrated (like females) by the more masculine gay men.

I picked “other” - I can often tell if a woman is a lesbian even if she isn’t “totally looking for action” - in that case, she is just “family”.

The was a recent news slip on this:

http://www.theonion.com/content/video/how_to_find_a_masculine_halloween

I didn’t answer my own question, did I?

The male stereotype seems more detailed and distinctive, and when I encounter someone who matches that stereotype to an overwhelming degree I do assume he probably is gay. Generically, though, I’m clueless on first impression. I’ll more often get a sense over time, but then I can’t explain why I think it one way or the other. (And I guess I do tend to assume hetero by default if I think about it at all)

You can tell by the mannerisms. Now I’m in no way saying, you can always tell a gay man. You can’t, but some gay men you can tell.

For instance, if you look at the reruns of “Who’s The Boss,” it’s fairly obvious early on that little kid is gonna grow up and be gay. Same for Neil Patrick Harris as “Doogie Howser.”

Now I’m betting that little kid Dewey (Erik Per Sullivan) on “Malcolm in the Middle” will be gay.