What makes a Jew a Jew?

This post will probably say more about me than I’d care to reveal were it not for the relative annonimity of this type of forum.

Here goes…

I’m not a believer. My feet are fairly firmly set in the atheist camp. I don’t participate in religious ceremonies unless they are weddings, bar-mitzva’s and sadly funerals. Keeping kosher is as foreign to me as a McDonalds cheeseburger to a hassidic jew. I had a bar-mitzva but only because I was too young to say no to my parents (and extended family) and I knew how much it would disappoint them if I refused. My family practices the high holiday judaism like the majority of reform North American jews. I don’t even bother to that extent. Now that my kids are growing out of diapers, we celebrate - in a very non-denominational way - Chanukka, Passover and Yom Kippur. Why? Well, mostly because I’m a pretty good cook and we all love good home-made chicken soup with matzo balls. Not to mention schnitzel and potato latkes. Having said that, I consider plain, unadorned matza to be the 11th curse. My digestive tract will second that motion.

My wife is (as we often say in jest) a recovering catholic. She does not practice either. Despite that, Santa still makes his trip down our chimney every xmas eve to leave presents for our two kids and in the spring, the easter bunny still hides all the eggs that the kids have painted.

To top it all off I agree with A. Einstein who said (and I paraphrase) … “those rocking and praying individuals of our race who stand facing the wall, they are people with a past but without a present or a future.”

And yet, to the same extent that I feel myself a man, a husband and father, I consider myself a jew. Now I suspect I know why that is, and I will reveal that part of it. But first I’d like to hear what say the teaming millions (maybe teaming few) on this topic. What makes a jew a jew?

A Jew is someone who:
[list=1]