What should I know about finding a proper retirement village?

I’m just beginning my search, and there are surprises. When I moved into my current apartment complex 30 years ago, the charge was one month’s rent as a security deposit plus first and last month’s rent, or something similar. That all makes sense to me, but now for a much smaller apartment in a retirement village, the cost seems to be many thousands of dollars ‘down’ and a monthly charge too. I understand there are extra features offered to the retirees, but gee whiz . . . Have you been through this or helped someone with a move like this? Might you have learned anything you wish you’d known sooner?

I’d appreciate any help I can get!

The senior villages with the buy-in option, which is often a six-figure sum, have various levels of independent living; the buy-in is intended to pay for assisted living or skilled nursing, should you need it, and the unused money is refunded to your estate upon your death. IDK what they do if someone moves out.

My sibs and I are starting to work on helping our parents through this issue; it’s likely they will need to move into this sort of place in the near future.

Independent living, AIUI, means you can handle eating, showering, going the bathroom, and managing your medications all on your own; the facility serves meals in a dining room, and may also take care of your laundry. They are of course also immediately on hand if you have some kind of emergency.

Assisted living comes in different levels/costs depending on your needs. They may bring you your medications on schedule, check on you several times a day, provide incontinence products, etc. Different facilities will have different offerings.

A skilled nursing facility offers cares for the highest-maintenance residents, i.e. people who need help getting dressed, using the toilet, being changed/cleaned if incontinent, eating, etc.