What's a decent severance package?

I just got laid off. A friend says I got a bullshit severance package.

I suppose it doesn’t really matter - not like I can negotiate something else - but I wonder how what I got compares to what others here have seen.

They tell me they’ll be sending a severance check worth one week’s pay for each year of employment. Plus they’re giving me a “nice reference letter” and paying one extra month of health benefits.

That’s it, not counting the stuff they’re legally required to provide (compensation for unclaimed PTO, COBRA membership, 401K rollover, etc.)

I am a writing professional in a high-tech industry. Although I have never supervised anyone, I believe they told me I was hired as a management-level employee.

So, what’s your experience with severance packages? Is this pretty standard or on the light side?

2 weeks for every year you have been with the company is standard. Last time I was laid off, that’s why I got, plus two months paid health benefits and of course all unused vacation time/PTO.

Usually the deal is you sit with HR and your boss and they go over your termination letter. Basically it’s an agreement not to sue or badmouth the company in exchange for your severance.

I suppose it wouldn’t hurt to tell them that you think that it is unfair and ask for more, but ultimately unless you threaten them with some sort of descrimination lawsuit or something, I’m not sure what leverage you have. Then again, sometimes just letting them know you think they are screwing you makes them rethink their position. Ultimately they just want you to go away without any trouble.

I got six months’ salary, plus six months of health/dental benefits & life insurance. I thought it was pretty decent, especially since I started a new job six weeks later.

Thanks, Satan! I’m eternally grateful.

If two weeks per year is standard, then I guess I got screwed. Not all that surprising.