When does Good Customer service supersede the cost of an Item?

When I was in college I was a waiter. I was damn good at it, made 36k my sophomore year. I bent over backwards for people when they came in so they would have a nice dining experience. My number one rule I never broke: Treat everyone who sits in your section, as you would wish to be treated. Even the assholes left good tips, because they had nothing to complain about.

No one knew at the time I was a fledgling Psychology student and playing mind tricks on them…Just kidding :slight_smile:

I have always had a good work ethic, instilled from a North Ave Chicago Polack father…who was an engineer but believed in responsible customer service. That is how I am today 15 years later, and this is how I treat those in the service business. Sometimes Customer service will even supercede the cost of an item for me. For instance a few years ago we (my wife and I) bought her a mercedes, it was something she worked for, and when she could afford it we did it. We went to several dealerships and the one we ended up buying from was the very one where the customer service was impecable. No pushy people, we made the decisions and that was that… What about other service oriented situations?

I’m thinking of several examples: Your Oil Company X, you have been with them for years, they send you x-mas cards, breaks on your oil cost etc…etc…They charge the 10% over market price for oil. You know it is high, but you pay it anyway because you like them.

Oil Company Z solicites you and the price reduction alone would save you hundreds a year. Their customer service pales in comparison to Oil Company X.

Do you go with the lower cost?

How about something as simple as ordering from a deli? Food quality in deli A is wonderful, their prices are high but their customer service is perfect. Deli B has equally good food at a lower cost but their customer service is shitty.

What do you do?