Where are the fresh Mandarin oranges?

Why can I buy Mandarin oranges canned but never see them fresh?

You do – they’re called “tangerines” when they’re fresh.

In Africa, we were sold “Mandrins” fresh on the roadside. I’m no expert, but they looked exactly like what I buy as tangerines in the US.

Where are the fresh raisins?
Where are the fresh prunes?

Droll. Very Droll.
:slight_smile:

In Western Canada around Christmas time, fresh mandarins are sold by the box. I have been unsuccessful finding them here. I was not aware that mandarins and tangerines are the same.

Try also the fruit known as “Clementines,” which are sold by the box around Christmas. Basically the same fruit – I don’t know why they started selling them as Clementines within the last decade or so.

Clementines are not tangerines, they are a (usually) seed free hybrid of an orange and a tangerine. Tangerines, ime, have loads of seeds.

• Shibb, who grew up in Florida surrounded by citrus groves, with tangerines and grapefruits growing in the yard.

No, clementines are more like small oranges than tangerines. They don’t section easily, like tangerines.

Well, I guess their being two different fruits would explain the different names. :smack:

Mandarin oranges are not a kind of orange at all. They are Tangerines (Citrus reticulata). The name comes from Tangier, Morocco. There is no botanical difference between the two, but in the supermarket this fruit is sometimes called a Mandarin Orange if it is an orange color. If the skin is a reddish orange, sometimes it is called a Tangerine. Again, there is no difference between the two. Some Tangerines varieties are more seedy than others.

Clementines are a variety of Tangerine. Most canned mandarins are of the satsuma variety. There are a couple of hundred varieties.

I grow several varieties in my backyard here in southern CA.