Which martial art should I learn?

My interest was piqued by the other martial arts thread…

So, where can I find information about the pros and cons of all the different martial arts? What’s the difference between judo and karate and kung fu and jujitsu and taekwondo and taichi and hapkaido? Which discipline would be best for (don’t laugh) horse riding? No, I don’t want to karate chop my horse, but I do want to have more balance and core strength and flexibility. And when I fall off of him I want to roll gracefully away from his hooves and end up without a scratch. :wink:

How much do martial arts classes generally run? How much are the outfits? If I’m in decent shape now, how long should I expect to attend classes and/or how often would I need “tune ups”? Or should I just stick with pilates?

I studied Kung Fu for a number of years and practiced the *horse stance * for countless hours.

Martial arts is not just a way to stay fit. It’s also a philosophy if you buy into that bullshit. Not a bad one as most philosophies go. In addition to fitness it improves your ability to defend yourself if the situation should call for it.

I do not recommend it as a particularly great form of fitness. I studied it for years and though I was strong, flexible and agile, it did not really sculpt my body like other sports or fitness routines. I’ve been training for well over 20 years at various sports and I can honestly say that martial arts (in and of themselves sans running, lifting, swimming, cycling) don’t offer much in the way of aerobic or cardio training. They do offer a good calistetics workout, much like pilates. You’ll certainly get better at push-ups through doing martial arts training. But I would not count much on great weight loss unless you modify diet and train very long and hard on a daily basis.

I’m not really well-versed in all the styles, but I personally take American Kenpo, the Tracy system.