WHY is suicide an forbidden topic on SDMB?

When I was a just a newbie on SDMB last April or so, I tried to start a thread about the pros and cons of suicide. For some reason, the moderator locked me out and told me the discussion could not continue.

Being a new member I did not want to give him attitude, so I complied. But now I am starting to wonder why this subject should be off-limits when very little else seems to be on these boards.

Look, there is a debate about the right to die with dignity going on in western society. There are books like “Final Exit” and groups like the Hemlock Society that are fighting for the right of the individual to decide when it is their time to exit.

Baby Boomers are now moving into the age group where many will learn they have a limited amount of time to live, that they have inoperable cancers, etc. They will have to make a decision if they want to suffer an extra few months or die peacefully.

Suicide as a way of bowing out of intolerable situations of military defeat, loss of “face” or deep emotional trauma has been a perfactly acceptable, respected and rational action in societies like Japan and Scandinavia.

I would like to know why the moderators on a site dedicated to fighting ignorance, who allow members to discuss every other topic under the sun, forbid us to discuss this one.

Turns out it’s illegal.

Only if successful.

Now now, we wouldn’t want to be providing ways for a person to help themselves shuffle off this mortal coil, would we? The Reader could be held responsible. :rolleyes:

Maybe 'cuz the SDMB doesn’t want the legal or moral responsibility for encouraging people to commit suicide?

Besides, there are just too many people who frequent the Pit that would post–

And that’s just mean.
And dull.
Done to death, one might say.