Ye Olde Straight Dope Sandwich Shop

Another food thread? You bet!

What are your favorite sandwiches? When they are made right they can be a slice of heaven. Be it a club, grinder, openfaced, Dagwood, hoagie, French dip (yes, I know that’s redundant), submarine or Ruben. Please drop in with your favorite sandwich orders and some of your best places to get them. I’ll start with one or two that I’ve posted elsewhere and add a few as we go along.

This is one of the most satisfying sandwiches I’ve ever had. It is also one of the boldest and novel flavors you could hope for. Oscar at Holder’s Country Kitchen here in Silicon Valley taught me this one when I was a chef there:

It’s a sort of Aracherra para Parilla Torta:[ul][li]Hammer flat a 3-4 ounce nugget of tri-tip[/li]
[li]Sprinkle with lemon juice[/li]
[li]Dust the beef palliard with;[list][]garlic powder[/li][li]onion powder[/li][li]white pepper[/li][li]salt[/li][li]powdered oregano[/li][li]mild chile powder (very light)[/ul][/li][li]Pan fry or broil the beef with high heat and melt some Jack cheese over it while finishing[/li]
[li]Make into sandwich with:[ul][
]Toasted torta French roll[/li][li]Lettuce[/li][li]Tomato[/li][li]Avocado[/li][li]Onion (very light)[/li][li]Jalapeño rajas (optional)[/ul][/li]Mayo is optional but this is a sandwich that has no reliance upon it. Absolutely no mustard or pickles allowed.[/list]

This next recipe was stolen from The Laurel Delicatessen in Novato, California and is one of my all time favorite sandwiches:

[li]Dark Rye (nothing else is the same)[/li][li]Rare Roast Beef[/li][li]White Meat Turkey[/li][li]American or Cheddar Cheese[/li][li]Lettuce[/li][li]Tomato[/li][li]Onion (light)[/li][li]Horseradish (light)[/li][li]Heavy Mayo[/li][li]Heavy Mustard[/li]