The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Old 06-21-2007, 10:45 PM

Guys: Ever date a girl who was hard to get? What happened?

I'm interested in stories of wooing, in the classical sense. Guys who fell for women who may or may not have liked them back, but didn't make it easy. Obviously, I'm in situation like this now. She's not pushing me away, nor throwing the door wide open. (This is NOT the Christian girl I mentioned in another thread).
The woman in question is smart, mature, independent, etc. I think she might just be worth waiting for. But I've never done that before for any woman. I want to hear some success stories for encouragement.

Last edited by Lizard; 06-21-2007 at 10:45 PM..
Advertisements  
Old 06-21-2007, 10:52 PM

It would be helpful to have some examples of what you mean by "not making it easy". Can you describe some illustrative interactions you've had with her?
Old 06-21-2007, 11:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DianaG
It would be helpful to have some examples of what you mean by "not making it easy". Can you describe some illustrative interactions you've had with her?
Well, I'm not really looking for analyses or comparisons of my own situation. As for examples, I think the guys can self-select; we all know when a woman is making us work for her. Basically, if you think you are or did, then it's true.
I really couldn't give examples from my own situation anyway; it's a bit too early yet.
Old 06-21-2007, 11:11 PM

Have you asked her out?
Old 06-21-2007, 11:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autolycus
Have you asked her out?
*sigh* Yes, I have, and she agreed, although we tend to hang out with a big group of her friends so far. She's inviting me to whatever they're doing, so she wants me around, but she's apparently in no hurry to do more.
Old 06-21-2007, 11:49 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard
I'm interested in stories of wooing, in the classical sense.