Ask the Newbie Politician

Well, I did it. I threw my hat into the ring.

My boss, the County Attorney (in Wyoming, he acts as both the civil representative of the county and the DA-like prosecutor), has been appointed to the bench. He has appointed me as his interim replacement, and I’m running for his job in November.

So, this weekend I entered a float in the local parade and handed out Otter Pops, made yard signs, lined up supporters for letters to the editor, wrote a press release announcing my candidacy, and made door-to-door campaign materials.

I’ve never done this before, and I’m a little nervous. The local County Commissioners are formally picking a replacement next week, and everyone I talk to seems to think I’m a shoe in for that. I am worried about the November election.

I decided to start this thread as sort of an on-line campaign diary, to answer questions, to vent, and to solicit advise from those who have gone before.

Wish me luck.

Reloy3 for County Attorney

Good luck!

Is a County Attorney like a District Attorney, except for a county and not a district? I live in an independent city, and we don’t have a county because of that.

I wish you the best of luck! A co-worker’s mother is running for political office and it can be very stressful, but very rewarding…or so I’m told.

~Tasha

Do you have a website?

What embarrassing or damaging personal information will I find by searching all your posts? :smiley: Good luck overcoming that!

Two differnet questions:

1. How are local elections conducted in Wyoming?

2. What do you do in the event that you either 1) Do not receive the appointment, or 2) Do receive the appointment, but lose in November?

Good luck, and may 2) be purely hypothetical.