b.c.pill users only

I could have searched for my old thread, but didn’t want to tax the server.
I tried Desogen (birth control pill) for 4 months.
It served its purpose-to stop my cramps, which were horrible.
Howeve,r the Only side effect it had was making my flow wayy to heavy. For hours at a time, I had to change my super tampon each hour.
I didn’t want that.
Now this is my first try with Allesse-though its the generic Aviane.
It has less estrogen.
I hope it works.
How are your experience son the pill?
Which one do you take?

I am no longer on the pill, but I was on them for approximately three years.

I was on Ortho-cept, and didn’t have any huge problems, except for the complete and total loss of any sex drive and my blood pressure rising somewhat. Technically I went off them because I wasn’t seeing anyone and had no need, but the BP and lack of a sex drive were also issues.

As far as periods while on the pill: mine was much lighter and shorter, and incredibly regular - I knew almost down to the hour that it should start.

But I don’t know that I would go back on the pill. I’d have to think about it very carefully and discuss it with my doc before that decision was made.

Ortho-Novum (1/35). Been on it about… 4 years now. No real side effects, been pretty happy with it. My period is somewhat lighter than it was before (just have 1 heavy day – used to have 2 or 3).

I know a few people who had to try several different brands/formulations before finding one that they were happy with. Individual body chemistry and all that.

I’ve been on Tri-phasil 28 for many years now (off and on, actually). I’ve found that my periods are lighter, I know to the day when I’m going to start (which I never did before and was a major headache for me!), and I have little to no cramping.

Ortho Tri Cyclen here, been on it for gasp going on 9 years.

My periods are much regular, and lighter than they were before. I’ve had no side effects. Very mild PMS is about as bad as it gets.