Baldness leads to beardness?

Based on tmwster’s comment in this thread the question needs to be asked, does increasing baldness inspire men to grow beards.

For me, the answer is “yes” - I’ve been losing my hair for about 10 years now and I’ve been wearing a beard of one form or another for about the last six years. Currently, it’s trimmed to a goatee.

If I’m losing styling options above my ears, I figured I’d add options below.

I’ve worn a moustache since early college, and lost nearly all my hair before I turned 30. I didn’t grow a beard until a couple of years after that, but have worn it ever since.

Could it be that the increased testosterone levels that cause baldness also increase the ability to grow a nice beard? May be a natural combination!

Not for me, I’m afraid. I takes about 4 days for me to get a five-o’clock shadow. This beard of mine is an act of commitment.

I don’t know, but I’ve always suspected the converse is true. I have very little body hair and can’t grow a decent beard to save my life, but I have a full head of hair.

Barry

Hmmm…let me guess. You have great skin too? Let’s not go into the other effects of lower testosterone levels. :wink:

Just kidding - I’m not really sure about the testosterone thing. You wouldn’t find me throwing this info around in GQ!

Well, since you asked…

I do get an occasional zit (I’ve got one on my nose right now, as a matter of fact), but my fiancee keeps telling me how amazed she is by what wonderful skin I have.

Unlike my father, who is bald, has lots of body hair, and can grow a great beard in a short amount of time, I don’t have much of a temper and am not very aggressive.

And, last but not least, I’m also not particularly well-endowed (you’ll note that I’ve never posted in any of the “Does Size Really Matter” threads).