Can/should/how to become more than friends?

Well, the title really says it all. But first, some background. About 8 months ago, I met a girl, really liked her, told her as much, she tells me she doesn’t want a boyfriend right now, we don’t see much of one another for a month or so. About 6 months ago, I haven’t seen or talked to her in a few weeks, she calls me up and says “a friend and I decided not to go to art class today, so we’re at Starbucks. You want to meet us?” I do and we start spending more time together. Anyhow, now we talk at least once or twice a week, usually see each other every week or so, including going to prom together, which she asked me to “as friends” (she’s a senior in HS, I graduated last year).

That basically brings us up to date, and leaves me in a pickle. I feel more strongly about her than I have anyone else ever. I think about her almost constantly in my unoccupied time; when I’m with her everything feels better, feels right. I don’t know if I’m in love, but as the cliche says, if not, I’ll be in bad shape when it’s the real thing. And we’re friends in her book. Pretty good friends, but friends none the less.

This brings us to the question: should I tell her? On the one hand, she might have similar feelings, and I’d be ecstatic. On the other, it might weird things out, ending the friendship, which would be worse than not saying anything and keeping me in this whacked out state. If I should bring this up, how? Fairly directly, I’d assume, right? And just to add to the situation, in September she’s going across the country for college.