Do we have to Mini-Rant every month?

1. I Work in Retail and People are Fucking Idiots and Santa Isn’t Real

Our home decor store has a new sale just about every other week. This week the promotion includes a selection of wicker patio furniture, that comes with its own cushions, at 60% off. It’s a good deal for decent furniture with not-so-pretty cushions.

Every place in which our stores operate gets the same ad in the paper showing that deal. Unfortunately our store isn’t carrying that selection. Other stores do, but not us. So, you annoying, stubborn geriatrics, when the ad, ON THE DAMN PICTURE WHERE YOU CANNOT MISS IT, says that “Quantities and Selection May Vary,” it means that not every store has the wicker that comes with its own cushions. We ain’t got it, and I told you that kindly and politely three times before you left the store.

Yes, I’m pretty damn sure that our ridiculously expensive patio furniture isn’t on sale. No, it ain’t 60% off. Those chairs are $250 a pop and if you don’t like it, tough. We can’t always get what we wanna.

Until.

Somehow, sometime later, your wrinkly, retired asses came back. Apparently ya’ll decided that Yes, you WERE, in fact, going to get the expensive, Not-on-Sale patio furniture for 60% off because YOU decided that’s what the ad said. Somehow, you browbeat my manager into convincing her district manager to get you an insane discount (and free cushions). And you know, congratulations on that. Really. Personally, I’d love to get $2,600 worth of furniture (and free cushions) for $1,300.