Do you ever "misrepresent" yourself?

Are you ever in situations where you intentionally try to hide aspects of your true nature - or even try to give the impression that you are other than you actually are?

I’m currently enjoying a number of bluegrass jams and festivals in a rather rural area. The majority of participants are extremely conservative and relgious. I am not, but I’m more interested in being friendly with these folk as we make music togather, rather than making friends. So I just smile a lot and ignore and deflect any political and religious comments others make.

These folk generally do not have tremendously advanced educatons, or terribly high incomes, so I am happy for them to not know that I am a lawyer with a pretty good income. Sometimes I feel guilty, like I am insulting these folk by assuming they would react somehow or another if they knew more about me. But I’m just getting involved in this community, and mainly just don’t want anything to get in the way of my participating in these jams.

The only times I have actually said anything untrue is on the rare occasions when they asked what I do for a living. I just say something general like “I push paper” for my employer. Because it is very likely that in my official capacity I have dealt with someone they know or are related to.

Anyone else have any situations in which you either actively tried to hide or downplay some aspect of yourself? Why did you do that, and how did it make you feel?

I am constantly pretending to others that I give a damn about what they say. Seriously. I find myself saying things like, “Hmmm” or “Really? that’s interesting” just to make them think I’m engaged in the conversation when I’m actually just waiting for their mouth to stop moving so that I can make my getaway.

Is this crappy behavior? Not sure. At least I try to look concerned. So that’s something.

Really? What an interesting post! :wink: