Do you nap?

When I woke up from this afternoon’s nap, I started thinking about the fact that I have turned into a napper. Weekends, days off, vacations – if I’m not out and about in the mid- to late-afternoon period, I will nap for an hour or so.

I love naps.

Damn, I’m middle-aged. People in their 20s and 30s don’t nap – or do they? I didn’t. I think this is something that kicked in sometime in my early to mid 40s. (yawn. stretch)

Then it occurs to me – I can probably pinpoint the age when napping kicks in – by polling my fellow Dopers.

So – do you nap? And how old are you?

Me: Yes. 51.

I’m 29, and definitely not. It breaks up my day in a way I really don’t like, and I always feel disoriented and icky afterwards.

I just woke up from a nap a little bit ago. I got in the habit a few years ago and have been unable to stop. I am currently 49.

Yes. I’m 31.

I’ve been an amateur napper since I was about 25, and began napping in a serious way about three years ago, at 28. This may have something to do with the fact that three years ago, I married a man who is himself a dedicated napper.

There’s really nothing like a good nap. I’m not saying there aren’t things that are just as good, but there’s nothing like it.

(Of course, we must distinguish between naps, which involve sleep, and “naps,” which do not. I am equally fond of both, but Mr. Stuff tends to favor the latter, for some reason.)

I’m 32, and I love to nap anytime I can. Unfortunately, U.S. society and business is not geared towards allowing me that luxury. Living in South America for two years, where the siesta was practically enforced (you might as well nap from 1PM-3PM, because all the stores and restaurants are closed!), was like heaven to me.