Does anyone else get desires to do things you're not very good at?

I love doing things with my hands. Crafts, etc. Thing is, I’m not very good. For example:

I wanted desperately to build my own dollhouse. Well, websites say to try and make one out of paper/cardboard first. It’s a good thing, too, because I scrapped the idea after what i saw my ground floor looked like.

I love painting, but I can’t draw anything independently. I’ve found finishing wood to be eminently satisfactory, because you don’t need to worry about a pattern, just follow the grain.

I love cross-stitching, beading, everything. BUT I’M NOT GOOD AT ANY OF IT.

I realize it’s just my creative side trying to express itself, but why do I get urges to do things I’m not good at? Does anyone else’s brain push itself forward like this, or am I the only kooky one? I feel like Taran Wanderer - found somehting I love, only to find out I don’t have the genius for it. :frowning:

• And thank Og for A.C. Moore, where I can get supplies really cheap cheap cheap so I can indulge my silly ideas.

All the time. I just wish I had the time to act on it.

Oh, yeah. I can’t build things to save my life, but I’ll always try. Luckily, it can usually be turned into firewood at the very least! :smiley:

Luckily, I discovered early on that I could channel my creativity into baking and brewing. Those things I am very good at, and they fulfill my creative needs most of the time.

I constantly dream that I’m a fantastic swimmer, to the point that I still kinda half-think that I am when I’m awake.

I’m not. I sink like a rock and drown in any water deeper than my knees. That’s going to get me f’ing killed some day. "Don’t worry, miss! I’ll save you! sploosh blub blub blub blub blub