Flowbee haircut by a complete novice

Mrs. Cardigan has offered to cut my hair tonight using a Flowbee ‘vacuum clipper’ borrowed from a (mostly bald) family member. The family member we borrowed it from swears by this thing and has used it throughout Covid to trim the 0.5" long fringe of hair on his balding head. I have a full head of hair that is about 4-5" long on top and used to be evenly graduated on the sides.

How foolish would it be for me to allow someone who has never cut hair before to use one of these contraptions on my mane? Personally, whenever I hear Flowbee get mentioned, I start flashing Garth using the Suck-Kut on Waynes World. On the other hand, I haven’t had my hair cut since February and my hair is starting to drive me nuts. I’m used to wearing it quite short (like #3 clippers on the sides).

What pitfalls should I be fearing?
Is this a device where experience in the hands of an operator would make a significant difference?
If you want to talk me out of this, please go ahead, I’m listening.

Dooooooo eeet! You must do it for science!

It will grow back.

Why not. If it goes bad just shave it all off.

I did early covid. Now my hair is back to normal and it’s been cut professionally twice since.

Mrs. J. just successfully trimmed my hair using an electric trimmer, for the second time since disease ravaged the land.

I gave her a $5 tip.

Go for it. If you don’t like it, just shave it all off and go for that clean cut bald look. In fact, my recommendation is to just shave it all off preemptively; that’s what I do a couple of times each week.