Help me over-analyze this dating situation (Am I in the Friend Zone?)

So I met a girl online about a month ago and we finally met up for a game of pool about two weeks ago. It went really well–we started off playing pool, talked and joked a lot, then went for a walk, discovered an arcade, then walked along the local pier before finally grabbing some dessert around 1am. So she withstood me for 7 hours–that’s a pretty good sign, I think :wink:

We’ve emailed or chatted online every day since, with potential plans this weekend. But now, as anyone who’s been following my posting history knows, I do not have much experience with girls, dating, or anything along these lines. Hell, this will be the first time I’ve actually met up with a girl for a ‘second date’–so progress!

However, seeing as I have very little experience, I’m paranoid that I may have run myself into the much dreaded “friend zone” already. Unfortunately, our first date both began and concluded with a mere handshake–I’m too much of a wuss (due to complete inexperience) to have tried anything more. Furthermore, though we’ve chatted a ton since (online), there has been no sexual flirting or really anything of that nature (is that normal at this stage? Help me, I’m clueless!). Is this something girls often initiate, or is the fact that I really haven’t said anything of that nature part of the problem?

Finally, and perhaps most concerning is something she said tonight. She said something that reminded me of a funny story, but I told her it’s something that’s much too long/weird for a mere IM. She then responded “It’s on the topic list for the next time we hang out.” Hang out. Those words concern me. Though as I write this, I’m wondering how else she could have worded it–perhaps I’m making a mountain out of a molehill?

So what are your thoughts? Too early to tell? If I do see her this weekend, what can I do to figure out where I stand?