Is this a "date"? What do I do? OH GOD SO CONFUSED

I have a date, I think. It would be my first ever, after a mere 22 years on this planet. Guess I was just waiting for the right woman…who I met online.

Alright, so I’ve been exchanging weekly e-mails with this girl I met on a dating site about two-months ago. The e-mails were usually of considerable length, so I’m hoping this is a sign that she was interested. Although it was fun e-mailing her (she’s writes very humorously), I wanted to take it to the next level…the real world. So I collected my balls and asked if she wanted to play a game of pool this weekend. She obliged. Score!

Now, as I said, I’m new to this whole dating this. Is this a “date?” I mean, the word “date” was never explicitly mentioned…that’s not a prerequisite, right?

And actually, I’m getting a bit ahead of myself. That’s the itinerary, so to speak, the details haven’t been finalized. When she replied, she also have me her phone number. Also a good sign, yes? I haven’t called her yet, I’ll hopefully do that tomorrow, but what do I say? I suck on the phone and am deathly afraid of the awkward pauses and simultaneous speaking that may ensue.

Aside from the general phone problem, there are two more:
1) A venue has not yet been selected. She lives about 20 miles away, should I ask her if she knows of any good places, or should I try and choose one before I call? Should the place be closer to me, her, or in between somewhere?
**2) ** How should I go about the transportation deal? Should I offer to pick her up, or would that come across as too forward, seeing as we’ve never met in person before? How do online dates usually work?

Any tips, advice, help, lessons on how not to be a dumbass (I know, too late), and whatever else you might be able to add would be amazingly appreciated. I don’t want to blow my first date, because the next one may not be for another 22 years. Thanks.