How mad should I be?

I just got back from an eye exam at Walmart Vision Center. I order my glasses online, so they always write down my pupillary distance on the prescription. I noticed that this time it was 66, when I was sure it had been 68 at my last exam two years ago. They looked it up on my chart and said no, it was 65-point-something last time, rounded to 66.

When I got home, I dug out the old prescription and sure enough, they had written down 68.

How big a deal is this? Should I let them know I’ve been wearing slightly wrong glasses for two years? Should I ask for a refund or discount on my exam? How pissed should I be?

IANAOptician, but I think that measurement only affects the frames and how comfortable they would be. And since there’s a range to that measurement that a given set of frames would accommodate, it probably didn’t make a difference.

I’d be so mad I couldn’t see straight :wink:

Don’t tell them that you nearly tripped over a large crack in their parking lot…you’ll never be able to claim the gift card.

ETA: the obligatory link

Who’s to say it wasn’t 68 the last time?

Based on this alone, I think you should be furious.

You can have your prescription checked at your optical doctor. I did this once, and found they had made the lenses wrong (and yes, that was Walmart, last time I go there for glasses).

Um … no, voltaire. Nothing changes about the frames based on the PD measurement. That measurement is used to set the distance between the optical centers of the lenses.

Lenses are ground using spherical approximations to the theoretically ideal curves. The optical center is the point at which, when you look through the lens at that point, the curve is exactly equal to that theoretical ideal; the farther away you are from the OC, the more ‘spherical aberration’ you get in the lens.