Imagine them all naked....and say:

I’m not a doctor but I’m giving a presentation at a conference for patients with a rare skin condition. What I need is one of those opening jokes/ice breakers to open my talk. In fact, I need two of 'em–one for the person who is going to introduce me.

It doesn’t have to do with medicine, in fact I’d rather it didn’t. This is one I took from a recent conference I attended.

When I was invited to speak at this conference by Mr. HOST, he said he wanted me to talk because “I was a model speaker.”

Well, I’d never heard the word used that way, before, so I went home and looked it up in the dictionary where I discovered that “a model is a small imatation of the real thing.”

<pause>

So I returned and confronted Mr. HOST and he said, “No, no! what I meant was that you are such a warm speaker.

So I went home and according to the dictionary warm means "not so hot! "

:slight_smile: :rolleyes: :dubious: :stuck_out_tongue:

You get the idea I’m sure. Have your heard one worth sharing here?

Thanks,

Myself

I am so pleased to be invited to speak. This is the first time I have been a speaker at one of these conference since I graduated medical school 63 years ago. (pause) Of course those are dogs years.

“I’m imagining all of you naked.”

I’m sorry – but if they all have this skin condition, do you really want to imagine them naked?

“I’m imagining you all naked - and covered with boils.”

On second thought…

"I’m imagining all of you naked… Tim, [point vaguely to someone in the back who either is your friend or isn’t catually there] you may want to have that mole on your chest looked at.

“At least you don’t have it as bad as my uncle. He’s allergic to cotton. He’s got some pills for it, but he can’t get them out of the bottle.”

“I’m glad I’m not sweeping up.”

There’s always the classic, “I flew all the way from (insert name of distant city) to deliver this speech here, and boy are my arms tired!”