Leaving your belongings in a shared bathroom indefinitely

Background: I am a student at a fairly well known university currently taking a couple of summer courses and living in the residence halls. My current dorm is suite with a common living area off of which extend three 2-person dorm rooms and a bathroom that is shared by the suite’s six residents. This bathroom comprises two stalls a vanity area with two sinks and two shower stalls. The various residents in my particular suite have little or no social interaction. I only know two of them by name aside from myself and my roommate.

Situation: One of my suite mates (I’m not sure who so I’ll designate him SM1) seems to store all of his toiletries in the (shared) bathroom. He leaves his soap and shampoo in one of the shower stalls, leaves his towel hung over the two hooks corresponding to that shower stall and leaves a variety of other personal hygiene items (tooth brush tooth paste, razor, big box of Q-tips, etc) cluttering the counter surrounding the one of the two sinks. In order to use that shower stall that sink (or at least have counter space for your own use while your do) should the others be in use, one must move SM1’s belongings aside, set his soap and shampoo out of the shower, rehang his towel so that it is only on one hook, etc.

Question: Am I wrong in thinking that SM1’s requisitioning of our shared and limited space is rather impolite? If not, what should I do about the situation. Keep in mind that I don’t know who SM1 is (aside from not being me or my room mate) and am not on friendly (or unfriendly for that matter) terms with SM1. Thank you for any advice you have on this matter.

Next time you are near a dollar store, you can buy a shower caddy for a buck plus tax. Put his/her items in it and place it on the floor under the vanity if there is room, or some other noticable but fairly out of the way location. That should get the point across.