Make Up Pretentious Job Titles

Thanks to this rather insipid Pit thread on coffehouse elitism some of my gray matter will not be forevermore clogged with the knowledge that the guy who pours up your fancy-schmancy coffee order is a “barista”.

I’ve become fascinated by this charmingly pretentious job title.

I want one.

I’m a chemical engineer in the lubricants industry. I’d considered “engineero” but it just doesn’t zing. Perhaps “lubricatrix”, were I a female lube engineer. Alas, no.

I’ll keep workin’ on my new job title. Come, join in the fun: what would your job title be if you wanted to convey your sneering contempt for the lesser mortals grubbing along at their little jobs?

hmm. “Chemiculator”, maybe?

Yes, also being an engineer, I feel that the title has been watered down too much by other industries (sanitation, computer, etc) grubbing for our glory. I’m in aerospace, so I propose:

Aeroraptor!

When I was working as a Kelly Girl, I used to tell people that I was a Syntactical Maintenance Technician.

AKA a word processor.

I’ve often considered myself a “Plannerisimo Generale.”

Editrix Supreme.

When we were making up business cards for me because I was going to meet with more clients, my dad said we had to come up with a title for me. I’m technically the Vice President, but most people don’t look at my pink, Britney Spears-listening-to-self as an authority figure. So I pondered. He said I could pick whatever I wanted, just to tell the printer.

I came up with “Grand Poobah of Taxation and Awesome.”

He nixed that idea. Jerk.

He decided on Client Services Representative. That’s a nice way of saying secretary.

Hee. My father was a technical writer/editor for IBM and I was always amused by his title: Information Developer.

We throw “XYZ Guru” or “XYZ Diva” around a lot here, but nothing too official about it.

Greetings, ladies and gentlemen. I am your friendly neighborhood Universe Investigator*, at your service.