Pearls of Wisdom (Long ...) ( ...ish)

I was thinking the other day about some of “Life’s Little Lessons” that I’ve picked up over the years, little “truisms” that I’ve learned in my life that have withstood the test of time.

I’d really like to pass some of this stuff on to my daughters (and the grandkids) and it occurred to me that maybe I shouldn’t limit the circle too much. So I thought I’d share some of them with you.

Now, be it known, that I’m a Professional Driver by trade for a reason: I’m not a writer, nor am I one with the ability to ‘turn a phrase’, so don’t expect any “it’s always darkest before the dawn” kind of stuff from me.

General

My mother always used to tell me to “go before I went”, sage advice, that. I’ve heard this thought expressed many different ways, such as “never pass up an opportunity to pee”, but the way my mother phrased it, it always stuck in my brain. (A little sideways, perhaps, but it stuck.) I’ve learned over the years that this same thought can be extrapolated into a “Life Lesson”:

The road ahead is uncertain. Do whatever you can now to reduce unnecessary side trips and make the journey a little more comfortable.

Here is another one from my mother:

Whatever it may be that you need to accomplish in your life, it is only necessary for you to talk to the correct number of people.

I have found that this only works with need. It does not work with want. Maybe it is because things that we want are not necessarily things we need, nor are things that we want necessarily good for us. Need to find financing for a car? It is only necessary for you to talk to the correct number of people. Need some plumbing repairs at a reasonable price? It is only necessary for you to talk to the correct number of people. Haven’t found a solution to “your problem” yet? You have not yet talked to the “correct” number of people. Simple.

Here’s one my father taught me by example: