Recovery

After posting a startling statement on my life in a thread about pharmacies and drugs and receiving excellent advice from QtM, I thought I’d give an update.

I’ve started my meetings, two a week so far. Seems like I’m one of only a few people that are dealing with opiate addiction. Most of the folks are well into recovery, I’m a newbie with 15 days clean. Still, I feel pretty good upon leaving the meetings.

My anti-depressants have been adjusted, and I’m hoping that within the next two weeks they’ll have kicked in. I’m so looking forward to feeling “good” again. For the most part, a lot of the bad feelings have gone away, but some linger. I know that I won’t be buying any more drugs, it’s a very strong resolve and I believe in myself. I don’t want my family to go away. I don’t want to go away.

I’ve done residential treatment for alcohol in the past, and I’m sure I’m not going that route this time. I’ve got a lot of responsibilities that I just can’t put off for several weeks. I’ve an appt on Monday to discuss further treatment options.

I just wanted to let anybody (everybody!) know that things are going pretty well and I know that I’m going to get well - it’s just gonna take some time. I also wanted to thank the folks who tried to help in the thread I mentioned above.

I appreciate having experienced people care enough to share their stories.

Thanks all! Wish me luck and strength!

Good luck!

I highly suggest that you try and do 90 meetings in 90 days if at all possible. More meetings=good. Sometimes it is hard to do but the payoff is wonderful.

Slee

Two years and eight months.

Keep coming back, RS! ODAAT and all that. It really does work. The Promises have come true for me.

Feel free to email me.

Hang in there, RSS. I agree that you might want to think about upping your meeting-count a bit – early recovery is extremely stressful, and you want to get your hands on as many tools as you can.