Roommate Issue- Am I Being Unreasonable?

Sorry so long…

I am a grad student and I share a one bedroom basement apartment with an acquaintance. We’ve are friendly to each other, but not really friends and mostly just stay out of each other’s way.

It’s not a great arrangement, but it works well enough. We were looking for place from the other side of the country, so we ended up in the first reasonable place that would take us. Our lease is for nine months and will end at the end of May. I view this as a very temporary situation- I don’t see it as a “home” as much as a workable place to crash while I finish my first year and figure out what I’m going to do next.

The apartment has a small wet bar that has been converted into a kitchen. We have a small wet bar sink, a nice two-burner hot plate, a microwave, a full-sized fridge and a very nice large toaster oven. It’s not my dream kitchen or anything, but with a grad student schedule I rarely do much cooking. Most of my meals are of the “sandwich” variety, and when I do find time to cook, what we have works perfectly adequately- I have no problem cooking with what we have. While of course it’d be nice to have a nicer kitchen, I really don’t miss it at all. We live out-of-the-way, so we don’t have a lot of guests or parties.

My roommate, on the other hand, likes to bake. While he doesn’t cook a lot, he does enjoy cooking and having a nice kitchen. He does feel constrained by our minimalist kitchen. We’ve already fought a few times because he would like “us” to invest in nice kitchen stuff, while frankly I don’t care and since i am living on student loans I am really just interested in getting what I need to survive and saving what I can. If he wants to buy nice stuff that is fine, but if I’m happy with what we have I don’t see why I should pay for it.