Strange things you say when you're half-asleep

One morning not too long ago, I was woken by my alarm clock. My SO, who was sleeping next to me, didn’t hear it and kept sleeping. I nudged her and said, “It’s 6:15. Time to get up for work.” She mumbled, “Okay, just send a message to my Inbox with that as the subject line.” Then she fully woke up when I started laughing.

So, anyone else have stories of strange things you say when you’re not really awake yet?

“Mom, bring me my flying machin…”

When I was a freshman, my roomate claims that he came into the room late at night, and I suddenly sat up in bed and said:

"I’ve got it now! The Weight of the Floor divided by the Weight of the Rooms is the Number of People!

No, that’s not right!"

Then I laid back down and went, apparently, back to sleep.

My son, a few years ago, was aslepp.
I was on the phone.
We heard him say,
“Mom, put the scissors away.”
I wonder…

I’m a pretty sound sleeper, but the missus is a great sleep-talker. Normally it’s just gibberish, but every once in a while…

Like a couple of months ago, she woke up in the middle of the night, sang a complete verse of the Raffi song “Baby Beluga” (complete with previously unknown hand motions) and then went back to sleep.

I refuse to acknowledge that I talk in my sleep.

I insist that those who deliberately talk to me when I’m asleep in order to elicit responses are hallucinating.

And the tapes are faked.

On my last trip to see my SO, I told him ‘happy anniversary’ right as he fell asleep.

His reply?

“Go get the vaccuum cleaner and I’ll clean it up.” Huh?

I’ve done this when I’m sort of half-awake, usually in the early morning.

Once, I spent five minutes telling my wife how she could get to a certain bookstore to find a magazine she was looking for. Or at least, that I thought she was looking for.