The Rationale for Quitting Smoking

I’ve been smoking for over 20 years now. Smoking runs in my family. All the males do it, and my father is currently in his 80’s with no adverse health effects. Imho, once you take health reasons out of the equation, is there any reason to quit, or any reason to stay off the cigs when you do?

I’ve quit smoking on 4 occasions:

1. The first time was in my sophmore year in high school. I stopped smoking because I wanted to make the baseball team. I couldn’t get into condition in time, so I was cut. When my reason to quit went away, I started smoking again. I stopped for about 3 months.

2. The second time I quit was the longest, this time was for a year and a half. I was finishing up my bachelor’s degree, and I didn’t want distractions. When I graduated, I started smoking again.

3. I quit for about a year because I had some issues with lethargy and dizziness. I thought quitting might raise my energy levels, and I also started an exercise regimen. When my energy levels stayed the same, I started smoking again.

4. This time, I’m quitting because I’m trying to save money for a down payment on property. By switching to eCigs, I hope to save 1k a year. When I do get it, I’ll probably start smoking again.

No smoking advocates will always turn to the health argument, but seriously, there’s a lot more dangerous things you can be doing besides smoking, like unprotected sex, alcohol, or fatty foods. Without the health argument, is there really any reason to stay off nicotine?

How much money do you waste on cigarettes a fortnight? Is there anything you’d rather do with the money?

Arrgh, ok I forgot to state my central question clearly:

If you quit smoking for a particular reason, and then the reason goes away, why not start smoking again?