How you doin': the Doper romance thread.

There have been a couple threads around here lately that made me feel like there should be a thread for singles. I know there’s precedent - several years ago, a friend of mine posted in one and ended up dating another Doper for several months.

Since I’m starting the thread, I’ll go first, but this is a bit of a lark, as I am currently looking for a job and I have no idea where I’ll be living this time next month.

I just turned 32 last week, I’m a straight woman, I’m liberal and a nerd. I live in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I like baseball (especially the Giants, as I’m originally from San Francisco). I’m reallyreallyreally almost done with my master’s degree in public policy and I’m looking for work in the international development field. I’m also a vegetarian and an atheist. My favorite books are Catch-22, Sirens of Titan, Midnight’s Children, and How to Be Good. My favorite movies are The Godfather and The Big Lebowski.

I’m 5’5" and sort of…neither fat nor skinny. A picture I took in a bathroom mirror recently when I thought “hey, I look good today.” (There’s also a sharper version with the flash on.)

Looking for a man somewhere in my age range, should be well-educated (self-educated is fine) who is interested in current events, has hobbies and is engaged with the world around him. Please be taller than me and reasonably fit. Please, no very religious people, political conservatives, or Yankees or Dodgers fans.

PM me if you like, but like I said, it’s a lark for me since I expect to be moving soon and am not actually in a great place to start a relationship. But everyone else, I want to see some Doper hookups!

Planning to move anywhere near Madison?

Are there any international development organizations in Madison I should be aware of?

RUN AWAY! RUN AWAY! Kyla, did we learn nothing from the torrid heyday of the boards? Or, from me? :wink:

…I started to tell the stories but realized no one would believe me, most likely. Haha.

Single male, 44 (checks watch, yep, still 44), Boston. Currently on self-financed sabbatical from the software industry. If I fall any farther behind the times, I’ll be on the leading edge of nostalgia. I have a weakness for obscure things, and like to embark on near-crazy adventures. And I look like almost exactly like this.

(I don’t know if this sort of thread is allowed, but I do appreciate the thought.)

Um, a Google search show that you just missed the 9th International Meeting on Zebrafish Development and Genetics.

They’ll be back to spawn next year. I, however, am ready to spawn now.

If you Google Madison international development you will get several other hits, but possibly no others quite so relevant. :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m 0 for 140 at this point on eHarmony, so I’ll give it a shot: 39, geeky, hockey fan. I live in Raleigh, N.C. am omnivorous, conservative, practicing Catholic(I’ll keep practicing till I get it right). This is me. I’m still working on the shyness. I’m looking for someone who share at least some of my intrested(and can tolerate the rest). Additional information in my sig:

Hah. Gutsy thread. I’ll be surprised if anything comes of it, other than revealing just how many lonely guys there are here for you hitched folk to point and laugh at. :stuck_out_tongue:

Since I’ve already got an OKC profile up, I’ll link it here, but I’m not entirely happy with the profile as it stands now. To summarize: I’m a 28 year old geek living in Phoenix AZ looking for someone similar to go out and…well, do stuff with. And stay in and do stuff too, for that matter.

There have been several Doper marriages over the years, and enough kids to provide a third generation of Cecilians. Besides, all my married female friends say I’d make a great husband.:smiley:

Yeah, don’t they always say that?

Anyways, good luck, y’all. I seem to remember there being something in the rules against this, but far be it from me to tattle.

Definitely against the rules as I understand them, hence the absence of similar threads over the years.

Hasn’t stopped me from hooking up with various Dopers over the years, but only by building friendships (via PM, via e-mail, via phone, via IRL visits, etc.) that evolved into something else–often took me somewhat by surprise.

Might be an interesting question for ATMB: I don’t really get the reasoning behind prohibiting such threads, but TPTB definitely frown down on it. FTR, I’m a 57-year old divorced guy in NYC, Doper references upon request.

I’m 47, of soundish mind and health, free of responsibilities, low maintenance-high performance, and surprisingly, you might think, available.

I’m also a pathological liar, according to my probation officer.

Hello, readers. This is ivan’s probation officer. He’s actually 48; don’t believe anything he says.

I’d have loved to help out here but have been off the market since Saturday night.

I’m an unemployed 20-year old without goals or ambitions, a fat belly and an addiction to pornography. All right, ladies, I’m ready!

But why not, I’ll link to my OkCupid profile too.

I’m 47, male, and not an asshole. An ass-half, maybe, but not an asswhole.

And Doper women around the globe weep!

Single male, 43, Bridge player and oenophile, enjoys watching motor racing, unemployed and almost broke (but possibly not the former on Monday), 6’4", can’t tell a joke, socially awkward with a romantic heart of gold underneath, who’s grown used to his own company.

Come admire my overbite.

Be brave, ladies, and apply.

I’m 32, male. I live in the Chicago area. I’m 5’9" and in fairly good shape. I’m a liberal, an agnostic, and a geek. I’m a software engineer. I love Joss Whedon’s TV shows. I love anything aviation related. I’m a pilot and I like to fly around when I have the time and money. I like to play the piano, but I’m still learning though. I like to go running in the trails in the forest preserve, and I like to go on hiking trips when I have the chance. I enjoy travelling. I’ve done a little bit of it, and I’d definitely like to do more in the future. I grew up overseas, and I always enjoy exploring different cultures.

We’re currently rethinking our current policy on these kinds of threads, we’ve banned them in the past.

However, this may take a while . . . it’s August, people are on vacation, etc. So in the meantime while this is under discussion we’re going to allow the current thread. Just this thread for the time being, so don’t get too carried away. :slight_smile:

Have fun! (Be careful.)

Tuba Shadchan