New here

Hey Everyone! I’m new to straight dope and just wanted to say hello! I’m from Northern VA and work in DC doing marketing/pr. A friend of mine told me about this forum and thought I’d find lots of good discussion/info… so here I am!

Welcome - and have fun!

Welcome, TupeloHoney!

You’ll find us to be a congenial bunch of loons. Just be prepred to back yourself up with cites in debate, when mentioning cats always link to pictures, and try not to become addicted.

[sub]I can stop anythime I want…[/sub]

Welcome – and does your name mean you come from Mississippi originally?

Hello TupeloHoney! Be welcome. Enjoy your stay! :slight_smile:

Yeah, sure you can Sunspace, anytime huh???

[sup] coming from a member of SA*[/sup]

Welcome TupeloHoney!

*Straight Dope Anonymous

Or, perhaps, that (s)he is a Van Morrison fan. I think that may be more likely.

In either event, welcome to the boards, TupeloHoney! I hope you decide to stick around. :slight_smile:

Welcome. Look around, join some discussions, get a feel for the place, have a good time. But watch out for the squid.

Hello. My name is Triskadecamus, and I am a Doper.

I have no power over my addiction, and must be aware that I will be a Doper for the rest of my life.

Cool, eh?

Tris

Greetings TupeloHoney. Since your location is NoVA, that puts you in MAD range. MADs are the Mid-Atlantic Dopers and range from PA, NJ, DE, MD, VA, Anaheim, Azousa, and Cucamonga.

We get together a few times a year for summer picnics, holiday parties, cultural events (we be upscale), helping one another move, and such.

Hope to see you at our next soiree. :slight_smile:

Well, there’s definitely a much smaller chance that she’s Wasp Woman, bitten by wasps by the light of the full moon and cursed to buzz men and women of loose morals (as well as porch-lights) for all eternity…

Holds up a box of Honey-Comb Cereal to ward her off