So how do you communicate with a very detail-oriented person?

So here at work I’m trying to prep a co-worker to hold down the fort for a couple weeks when my wife and I have a baby.

I’ve been supporting this particular business unit for about 2 years now, and my co-worker just got detailed to support me about 3 weeks ago.

As far as I know, I’ve given her plenty of documentation, examples and walk-throughs of the system so that she should have a good handle on it.

But… apparently she’s one of these people who learn from the bottom up and need to get all the details straight, and I’m one of the types who generates a conceptual model and fills in the details as I get them.

She seems really uncomfortable with what I’ve given her, which to my mind, is a pretty comprehensive overview of what the business unit does, what the system does and how we fit into it. It’s like I haven’t told her everything, so she’s uncomfortable.

I don’t think that way- I’m totally comfortable with having black holes in my knowledge, so long as I have knowledge that the black holes exist, and what they concern, and have an idea of where to look that knowledge up or who to ask.

How do I give her enough knowledge so that she’s comfortable, without going through the details of everything involved like she seems to want?

Assure her that you will contact her daily to give advice, walk through problems and give her updates on your personnel situation. And then only call when the baby is born.

It’s called trial by fire; sink or swim; do or die. If she loves you she will be there when you come back; if not then you learned she wasn’t up to snuff and move on to the next one.