Straight Women: Do You Always Seem To Fall For Gay Men

Yep, that would be me.

Don’t know why… I guess because I’m an artist and so many of the men I’ve met in the circles I travel are gay. I know that many times their feelings for me have been requited – as far as it goes. Don’t get me wrong – my gaydar is pretty strong, so I don’t go out intentionally looking for men who can only bring me disappointment. I also believe that a straight woman’s gay male friends are some of the best friends she’ll ever have, but that’s all they’ll ever be.

Just once I’d like to meet a straight man who could empower me, compliment and encourage me the way my gay male friends have. And I always have treated them the same.

This is a relatively moot point for me now, because I have not been in a relationship at all for 7 years, but I still think about it, and yearn for it. I pay close enough attention to popular culture and old movies to know that I can still drum up “that old feeling,” but it tends to be for the well, you know… sweet boys…

Anyone else out there in this club?

I am the leader of this club!

My last two boyfriends were gay and I found out they were making out behind my back. I always fancy gay men as well -it;s kinda scary. Makes me feel alone and like I’m always gonna be alone. Shame really :frowning:

Goodness, you and I really are cut from the same cloth!

Don’t worry, dear . . . Someday you will work your way up to falling for married men. Then a few years later, all men will lose all interest in you, and it’ll all be academic.

–“Thoroughly Maudlin Millie”

Eve, Guess what? Your scenario has already come true – to the letter! And, Blue-poop, you have some company. Chin up I say!

[hijack] There really are good STRAIGHT guys. You just can’t expect them to act like substitute girlfriends. We just wont chat about your feelings for hours, we just don’t do that. Sorry[/hijack]