The problem with Instructables.com

I get a daily email newsletter from Instructables. I work in a school system, and occasionally get ideas for projects to pass on to the teachers. But it seems like lately I see more things like this:

QUICK AND EASY ADORABLE GOLLUM FIGURINE

Materials and tools used:

Poster board
3D scanner
3D printer
Andy Serkis

(If you don’t own all these, just go to your local TechShop)
So what’s the problem? Well, apart from the poster board very few people own any of these tools. They’re expensive. Especially the last one. TechShop memberships aren’t exactly cheap either. And very few people even have a TechShop nearby. There are only five of them, and three are in California.

I suspect that the people who write these know darn good and well that 99% of people who use the site will be unable to build their projects. They just want to rub it in that they have access to expensive tools most people can only dream about.

Eh, I still like seeing what can be done with the cool widgets. I also still see lots of low-tech instructables.

I hate how WikiHow and other websites put the ingredients list at the bottom. And sometimes forget to add things there.

Instructables will have to go to more complex builds because there’s only so many steampunk tea cozy’s that can be made out of knex.

More likely, they’re so damn thrilled to have neat toys, they’re singing it to the world. Sorry you’re on the receiving end of it.

I’m only half serious about the show off accusation, but this type of Instructable seems to promote a couple of attitudes that do bother me a bit:

1. The notion that having access to expensive tools and equipment will magically turn you into the next Thomas Graham Tesla.

2. The notion that you can’t make and do neat stuff without access to said expensive t & e.

It’s worse then when Norm shows how to make a lovely bench with nothing more then the worlds most complete workshop.