Things that don't seem gay, but are

With the greater acceptance of gay culture in recent years has come much discussion about things men do that might seem “gay,” but are not necessarily indicative of gayness. (Here’s a blog post about some of them, eg: tea-drinking, bow ties, yoga.)

Despite such openness, what is still mostly unmentionable are things that are not essentially “gay,” but are actually “gay by association.” Many of these seem to fall into the category of open secrets. Such as the high proportion of gay men among professional organists. Or that the military ran up against a shortage of Arabic translators because linguistics turned out to be a “gay specialty.”

As a straight guy who has issues with traditional masculinity, I have been on the receiving end of some surprises of this nature. I had been interested in early jazz since I started playing saxophone and clarinet at 12, but as I branched out from jazz into 1920s-40s pop music, I noticed that all of a sudden I encountered more gay enthusiasts. Since then, I’ve observed that being interested in any obsolete popular culture - something no one is around to remember - is, as often as not, a culturally gay activity. The reasons still elude me, but it’s worth speculating about.

What are some other things that people have found that you wouldn’t think were gay, but that turned out to be more or less gay? And why do you think it is?

I was really surprised to learn that if I took a dick up the asshole, that would be considered a “gay” activity. It just seemed so weird and arbitrary, you know?

Not sure where you’re going with that thought.

Actually, even calling it a “thought” is being kind.

I must be well Gay, I drink tea and appreciate fine art.

Do you think that this might get a few more women to shag me ?

Exactly! Who are we to assign labels to these things? When you’re swept up in the emotion and passion of it all, thoughts just seem to go out the window, you know?